top of page

Bowditch, Kirk seek first Presidents Cup points in final round singles play

For the first time in 17 years, the International Team has a rare chance to upset Team USA at the Presidents Cup in Incheon, Korea. Two players affiliated with the Scott Hamilton Golf Academy and coached by Cartersville Country Club’s Director of Golf, Scott Hamilton, will be competing in that mix — one player on each side.

Chris Kirk (USA) and Steven Bowditch (AUS) have both gone 0-2-0 in their matches so far at the Presidents Cup, but both will look to pick up an important point for their respective teams in Sunday’s singles play.

The American team leads the International team 9.5 to 8.5 with 12 singles matches scheduled for Sunday at the Jack Nicklaus Golf Club in Incheon.

Bowditch will face American Jimmy Walker in singles play. Kirk will go against Anirban Lahiri of the International Team. Bowditch did not play at all in Saturday’s four-ball or foursomes matches, but was on the losing side of a four-ball match Friday and a foursomes match Thursday. Americans J.B. Holmes and Bubba Watson defeated Bowditch and Marc Leishman in four-ball play Friday 2-up. Bowditch and Jason Day lost 2-up to Phil Mickelson and Zach Johnson in Thursday’s alternate shot foursomes.

Kirk, also seeking his first Presidents Cup point Sunday, was on the wrong side of the most one-sided match in this year’s event. Jimmy Walker and Kirk lost 6 and 5 Saturday to Sangmoon Bae and Hideki Matsuyama of the International Team. Kirk was paired with Bill Haas for four-ball play Friday. They lost 2 and 1 to Charl Schwartzel and Thongchai Jaidee.

With the huge time zone difference, NBC Sports and The Golf Channel live TV coverage of Sunday’s singles play in Korea begins locally Saturday night at 9:30pm EDT.

The pairings and schedule for all singles matches (times converted to local EDT):


Sat. 8:15pm — Patrick Reed vs. Louis Oosthuizen Sat. 8:27pm — Rickie Fowler vs. Adam Scott

Sat. 8:39pm — Dustin Johnson vs. Danny Lee

Sat. 8:51pm — J.B. Holmes vs. Hideki Matsuyama

Sat. 9:03pm — Bubba Watson vs. Thongchai Jadee

Sat. 9:15pm — Jimmy Walker vs. Steven Bowditch Sat. 9:27pm — Phil Mickelson vs. Charl Schwartzel

Sat. 9:39pm — Chris Kirk vs. Anirban Lahiri

Sat. 9:51pm — Jordan Spieth vs. Marc Leishman Sat. 10:03pm — Zach Johnson vs. Jason Day

Sat. 10:15pm — Matt Kuchar vs. Branden Grace

Sat. 10:27pm — Bill Haas vs. Sangmoon Bae

The 2015 Presidents Cup captain for Team USA is Jay Haas. Nick Price is the captain for the International Team.

Recent posts

bottom of page