GHSA keeps local schools in current classifications for 2016-18

The Georgia High School Association and its Reclassification Committee released their results this week for the new classification assignments for the 2016-18 school years. Each of the local schools -- Adairsville, Cartersville, Cass, Excel Christian, and Woodland -- remained in their current classifications even though an additional classification was created. Several of the local schools' regions will be comprised of different schools, however, as many other schools will find themselves in different classifications for the next two-year cycle.

Now that all the schools are assigned to a classification, the geographic region assignments for each school will be debated and worked out by the GHSA committee membership. The new region assignments are scheduled to be released December 1.

The GHSA created a new classification (for now dubbed Class AAAAAAA) for the largest schools in the state that will include schools larger than 2090 students in grades 9-12. Schools like Mill Creek, Norcross, Brookwood, Peachtree Ridge, Meadowcreek, and Collins Hill have over 3000 students. Mill Creek is the largest at just under 4000.

Forty eight schools were assigned to this new classification for the largest schools. The smallest schools with 520 students or fewer are assigned to Class A. Those schools will compete in state playoffs in either the Class A Private Schools or Class A Public Schools championships. The schools between 521 students and 2089 students are divided equally among Class AA, Class AAA, Class AAAA, Class AAAAA, and Class AAAAAA. Provided GHSA retains the eight region format that has been in existence for many years, there will be six to ten schools assigned to each geographic region.

Cass and Woodland remained in Class AAAAA. The school size range in Class AAAAA is 1345 students to 1673 students. The only exception was Buford, who was forced up to Class AAAAA due to the school having 17 percent of its student body membership from outside its home county. The new rule, in place for the first time, requires any school with more than 3 percent of its student body from outside its own county be moved up one classification. Buford has an enrollment of 1299 students and would have otherwise been placed in Class AAAA. There were several middle and south Georgia county schools impacted by the new rule, but they were left in their original classification following appeals to the GHSA committee. As a result, only private and independent (city system) schools with greater than 3 percent out-of-county composition were moved up for the 2016-18 cycle. Woodland is the fifth largest school in the classification with 1643 students. Cass is the 19th largest school in the classfication with 1560 students. There are 55 schools in Class AAAAA for 2016-18. Cartersville remains in Class AAAA. Cartersville is the 33rd largest of 54 schools assigned to the AAAA classification which primarily contains schools ranging in size from 1127 to 1341 students. The schools moved up to Class AAAA due to the new "out of county rule" include Woodward Academy, Jackson (Atlanta), St. Pius X, Jefferson, Blessed Trinity, and Riverside Military.

Adairsville stays in Class AAA with 948 students. With most schools ranging in size from 875 to 1115 students, Adairsville is the 41st largest school of 56 schools currently assigned to Class AAA. The schools moved up the Class AAA due to the "out of county rule" include private schools Westminster, Marist, Greater Atlanta Christian, and Lovett. The "out of county" move up also included Bremen, which is an independent, city school. Excel Christian Academy with 91 students remains in Class A and will compete in the private school division for state playoffs.

GHSA Schools listed by 2016-18 Classification NOTE: Region assignments are scheduled for release Dec. 1

Class 7A (AAAAAAA)

Mill Creek Norcross Brookwood Peachtree Ridge Meadowcreek Collins Hill Lambert

South Forsyth Lowndes Parkview Berkmar

East Coweta North Cobb Grayson North Gwinnett Duluth

Walton Campbell South Gwinnett Archer Cherokee Pebblebrook Camden County Colquitt County West Forsyth North Forsyth Etowah Hillgrove Newton McEachern Shiloh Newnan Woodstock Central Gwinnett Milton Lassiter Tift County Marietta Kennesaw Mountain Forsyth Central Wheeler Lakeside, DeKalb Discovery Rockdale County Roswell North Paulding Mountain View Westlake

Class 6A (AAAAAA)

Johns Creek Dacula South Cobb Alpharetta Valdosta Harrison Richmond Hill Cambridge Pope Osborne Alcovy Gainesville Chattahoochee Centennial Langston Hughes Habersham Central Northview Creekview Winder-Barrow Douglas County Effingham County Lee County

Glynn Academy Heritage, Conyers Coffee Evans

Grovetown Dalton Sequoyah Tucker Drew South Paulding Mundy's Mill Northside, W. Robins Tri-Cities

Lanier Northgate Houston County Lovejoy Allatoona Brunswick Sprayberry Mays Greenbrier Alexander Creekside New Manchester North Atlanta Apalachee Jonesboro Paulding County

Rome Dunwoody Bradwell Institute East Paulding Lakeside, Evans River Ridge

Class 5A (AAAAA)

Harris County McIntosh Flowery Branch M. L. King Woodland, Cartersville Clarkston

Hiram North Springs Forest Park Stephenson South Effingham Jones County Villa Rica Statesboro Lithia Springs Mt. Zion, Jonesboro Cedar Shoals Ware County Cass Ola Warner Robins Banneker Riverwood Cross Keys Loganville Veterans Miller Grove Dutchtown Union Grove Stockbridge Bainbridge Kell Carrollton Wayne County

Thomas County Central Woodland, Stock. Johnson, Gainesville Whitewater Clarke Central Lithonia Walnut Grove Locust Grove Griffin Starr's Mill New Hampstead Ridgeland


Eagle's Landing


Chapel Hill


Fayette County

Northside, Columbus

Southeast Whitfield

Arabia Mountain

Madison County


Class 4A (AAAA)

Pickens Richmond Academy

Riverdale Morrow Heritage, Catoosa

Northwest Whitfield

Troup Perry North Clayton




Howard Salem Chestatee Carver, Atlanta

Druid Hills


Columbus Baldwin Westover Spalding Sandy Creek

Southwest DeKalb

LaFayette Shaw Thomson Columbia Gilmer Cross Creek Mary Persons West Laurens

Cartersville Carver, Columbus

Cairo North Oconee

Burke County

Central, Carroll


Stephens County

White County



West Hall

Luella Oconee County

East Hall

Pike County Woodward Academy Jackson, Atlanta St. Pius X Jefferson

Blessed Trinity

Riverside Military

Class 3A (AAA)

Franklin County

Lumpkin County

Monroe Area

Liberty County

Jackson County

Crisp County

Central, Macon


Westside, Macon

Windsor Forest

Haralson County


Calhoun Cedar Grove Dawson County North Hall Monroe Pierce County Henry County Ringgold Redan Stone Mountain

Coahulla Creek Jackson North Murray Beach Morgan County Peach County Appling County Islands Hephzibah Lakeview-Ft. Oglethorpe

Murray County Jenkins Towers Hart County

Tattnall County