Cartersville appeal for lateral move denied; Adairsville region to be sub-divided

The Georgia High School Association Reclassification Committee denied Cartersville High School's request to be transferred from Region 5-AAAA to Region 6-AAAA for the 2016 through 2018 school years Tuesday in Thomaston. Cartersville was assigned last week to Region 5-AAAA along with Cedartown, Central-Carroll, Chapel Hill, LaGrange, Sandy Creek, and Troup. Cartersville's transfer request was to move to Region 6-AAAA which will include many of the same schools in their current region configuration. The 2016-18 Region 6-AAAA will include Gilmer, Heritage-Catoosa, LaFayette, Northwest Whitfield, Pickens, Ridgeland, and Southeast Whitfield.

The next step for Cartersville is to appeal the decision to the full executive committee on January 13. In other local GHSA news, Region 6-AAA's request to sub-divide was approved.

Adairsville, Bremen, Calhoun, Haralson County, and Sonoraville will comprise the South sub-region of 6-AAA. The North sub-region will be Coahulla Creek, Lakeview-Ft. Oglethorpe, Murray County, North Murray, and Ringgold.

Recent posts