top of page

GHSA finalizes region alignment for 2020-21 and 2021-22

The Georgia High School Association’s Reclassification Committee released the approved regions for the 2020-21 and 2021-22 school years on Tuesday from Thomaston, Georgia. The new region alignments for local schools included the following after the approved changes from appeals.


The new Region 7-AAAAA will include only six schools after Northview High School was granted approval to move from Region 7-AAAAA to Region 5-AAAAA. Local schools Cartersville, Cass, and Woodland will be combined with Blessed Trinity, Calhoun, and Hiram to form the six-school league.


Adairsville will be a member of the nine-school Region 6-AAA that also includes: Coahulla Creek, LaFayette, Lakeview-Fort Oglethorpe, Murray County, North Murray, Ringgold, Rockmart, and Sonoraville.


Excel Christian Academy joins Christian Heritage, Darlington, Mt. Paran Christian, North Cobb Christian, and Walker to form a six-school region. Excel is the only non-football playing school in the league.

Recent stories

bottom of page