Clyburn, Team GSGA win Billy Peters Cup

Cartersville golfer R.B. Clyburn was a member of the Georgia State Golf Association’s amateur team that defeated the Georgia PGA Section team of club professionals Sunday and Monday in the Billy Peters Cup Matches at the par-72, 6,903-yard Glen Arven Country Club in Thomasville.

The annual competition between the GSGA and GPGA is similar to the Ryder Cup and Presidents Cup. It consists of fourball and foursomes matches on the opening day followed by sixteen singles matches on the final day.

The GSGA team won the 2022 title 18-14.

Clyburn teamed with Grant Crowell in the foursomes round to win 2-up over Paul Claxton and Pete Vitiello. The amateurs took a 5.5 to 2.5 point lead in the foursomes competition.

The GSGA added to their lead in the fourball round building a 10 to 6 advantage. Clyburn again teamed up with Crowell. The duo halved their match against Claxton and Jacob Tilton.

Monday’s singles matches finished 8-8 for an 18-14 final team score. Clyburn, who earned 2.5 of his teams' points with a 2-0-1 record, stayed unbeaten in the competition with a 4&3 victory over Jacob Tilton.

The Georgia PGA professional team included: Matt Sanders, Pete Vitiello, Todd Ormsby, Paul Claxton, Dan Merriman, Jacob Tilton, Craig Stevens, Sonny Skinner, James Mason, Brian Dixon, Jeke Keen, Alex Sutton, Mark Anderson, Chris Cartwright, Justin Martin, and Tyler Johnson.

The GSGA amateur team included: Rusty Mosley, Franco Castro, Tyler Gruca, Dalton Melnyk, Matt Stauch, Nate Gahman, Bob Royak, Billy Mitchell, Jack Hall, Rusty Strawn, Rob Varner, Stan Gann, Matthew Hayes, Taylor Smith, Grant Crowell, and Clyburn.

Recent posts