top of page

Woodland girls cross country team wins 2016 Class AAAAA state championship

The top-ranked Woodland girls cross country team won the 2016 Class AAAAA State Championship with a 28-point victory over runner-up Starr’s Mill.

The Lady Cats finished with 81 points and had all five scoring runners to finish in the top 37 places. Starr’s Mill finished second with 109 team points. McIntosh (132), Flowery Branch (151), and Grady (161) rounded out the top five teams. There were 27 teams and 195 individual runners in the Class 5A girls championship race.

Erin Leonard of Jones County won the individual title in 19:17. Woodland’s Carli Clymer led the Lady Cats’ runners with a fifth place individual finish in 20:09.


Carli Clymer (5th, 20:09) (photo left)

Tess Cochran (8th, 20:26) (photo right)

Cheyenne Spinks (15th, 21:12) McKenna Trapheagen (19th, 21:20) Lindsay Scifers (37th, 22:00)

Casey Bolan (59th, 23:10)

Makenzie Stephenson (69th, 23:19)



Clarkston captured the Class AAAAA boys championship with 97 points. The Angorras placed five scoring runners within the top 34 spots to hold off runner-up Starr’s Mill by 23 points. Union Grove, Eagle’s Landing, and Whitewater rounded out the top five teams.

Sam Ellis of Decatur won the Class 5A boys individual title with a time of 16:38. There were 214 runners in the championship race.

Jonathan Holloway (52nd, 18:38) (photo right)

Jacob Giltz (67th, 18:53)

Levi Brandenburg (101st, 19:27) Dylan Stermer (104th, 19:33) Dawson McClure (124th, 19:44)

Noah Warren (130th, 19:48)

Reece Mitchell (135th, 19:51)



Marist had all five runners in the top 13 places in their title run, including individual winner Josie Wirtz (19:15). Blessed Trinity was the second place team. White County, St. Pius X, and North Oconee rounded out the top five teams.

Cartersville finished 19th of 31 state meet qualifying teams. The Class AAAA girls race included 209 runners.


Kayla Carpenter (81st, 23:04) Vanna Beach (84th, 23:12)

Abby Forristall (109th, 24:15) Caroline Fahey (130th, 24:55)

Ally McElwee (148th, 25:29)

Krystinn Dabbs (152nd, 25:42) Katie Tolbert (164th, 24:14)



St. Pius X placed all five scoring runners in the top 17 finishers for a 51 point total to win the Class AAAA championship over Marist and Blessed Trinity with 72 and 85 points, respectively.

Cartersville finished 18th of 31 teams. There were 219 runners in the boys state championship 5K for Class AAAA.


Robby Earick (53rd, 18:12) (photo right) Andy Sims (58th, 18:17)

William Matherne (107th, 19:12) Jacob Busek (117th, 19:24) Will Pruitt (121st, 19:26)

David Mejia (158th, 20:10) Jake Hacker (160th, 20:11)

Recent stories

bottom of page