top of page

Hurricanes capture Christmas Clash title; Adairsville boys win 3rd place game

The Cartersville boys basketball team held off a late charge from Region 7-AAAAA foe Calhoun Thursday night to win the championship game of the Adairsville Christmas Clash, 60-58. Tournament MVP Kam Callahan scored 11 of his 25 points in the fourth quarter to help lead the Canes to the win. Robert Novak contributed 17 points, including four three-pointers. Romo Pace scored eight. Luke Gambill chipped in six and Chandler Wise added four points.

Cartersville led 15-7 after one period and extended the lead to 33-23 by halftime. The Yellow Jackets narrowed the Canes’ lead to 46-42 heading into the final quarter for their two-point win.

Dylan Faulkner led four Calhoun players in double figures with 19 points. Blaze Hammett tossed in 14. Jake Prather and Peyton Law finished with 11 and 10 points, respectively.

The loss drops Calhoun to 4-5 on the season.

Cartersville (4-2) returns to action Saturday, January 9 with a non-region game at Cedartown.


The Adairsville boys got a bit of revenge Thursday night with a 56-50 win over Rockmart in the third place game of the Adairsville Christmas Clash.

Back on December 12 at Rockmart, the Yellow Jackets won a Region 6-AAA game over Adairsville 62-60. Although the Tigers’ holiday tournament win won’t count in the region standings, it levels the season series between the two region mates. The two teams are schedule to meet again on the region schedule February 12.

Adairsville held an 18-14 lead after one quarter and led 28-26 at halftime, but Rockmart gained the lead at 39-37 heading into the fourth quarter. In the final eight minutes, Adairsville outscored the Jackets 19-11 to escape with a six-point win.

T.J. Printup, Jr. led all scorers in the contest with 30 points. Tre Mitchell added 11 for Adairsville. Rockmart (4-6) was led by Javin Whatley’s 17 points. Jakari Clark scored 11 for the Yellow Jackets.

Adairsville (5-5) is off until next Tuesday when the Tigers host Lakeview-Ft. Oglethorpe in a 7:30 p.m. start.



Londaisha Smith, Cass, Most Valuable Player Claire Davis, Cass

Haley Johnson, Cass

Ariana Hames, Cass

Zori Williams, Rockmart

Keyara Berry, Rockmart

Megan Little, Rockmart

Jada Bates, Kennesaw Mountain

Shanique Reid, Kennesaw Mountain

Julia Williams, Armuchee

Olivia Moses, Armuchee

Autumn Henderson, Adairsville

Ari Olotu, Cartersville

Jordan Thompson, Woodland


Kam Callahan, Cartersville, Most Valuable Player

Chandler Wise, Cartersville

Romo Pace, Cartersville

Robert Novak, Cartersville

Jake Prather, Calhoun

Dylan Faulkner, Calhoun

Peyton Law, Calhoun

T.J. Printup, Jr., Adairsville

Tre Mitchell, Adairsville

Javin Whatley, Rockmart

Sherman Davis, Rockmart

Dylan Bennifield, Mount Paran

Alejandro Mays, Woodland

RJ Boles, Temple

Elijah Payne, Excel Christian


Recent stories

bottom of page